Skip to Main Content

Of Mice and Men

Helpful Resources for Citing

Cite Sources in MLA Format using NoodleTools

Follow these steps to create your works cited citations:​

Step #1: Where did YOU get the information from?

  • Look at the boxes below -- which one of these did you use? Did you find the information from a database? From a website? A reference book?

Step #2: Scroll down and find the correct pathfinder box

  • What was your answer in Step #1? Scroll down and find that option from the boxes below.

Step #3: Where did THEY get the information from?

  • Look at the tabs inside each box -- which of these matches the TYPE of source you are using? Does your source tell you where they found the information? For example, a website like The New York Times may tell you at the end of the news article that it was originally printed in their newspaper. That means YOU used a website, and the SOURCE is a newspaper.
  • Not sure? You can "Google" the name of the original source to help you figure it out...

Step #4: Choose your tab, open the tutorial, begin citing

  • Follow the tutorials screenshot-by-screenshot to help you create your citations in NoodleTools.
  • Don't see a tab for your source type? Ask for help!

Cite ... for Students from Gale eBooks

Use the link below to find the article on Gale eBooks to help you with your citation:

Use the link below to find the article on Gale eBooks to help you with your citation:

How do I know if the article is originally from an JOURNAL or a BOOK SECTION?

  1. Find the original source citation at the end of the critical essay you are using
  2. Use the Journal vs Book Chart to distinguish between a book or journal -- compare the chart to your source citation and see which matches best.
  • If you're still not sure, conduct a Google search for the publication title (found in italics).

 

Once you determine the original source type, open the correct tutorial below:

Use the link below to find the article on Gale eBooks to help you with your citation:

Cite Gale Literature Criticism Database

Citing Tips:

  • These introductory articles are unsigned (no author listed)
  • Use the Literary Analysis Annotation Generator for help creating annotations for your citations. 

How do I know if the original source is a journal?

  • Look for these words in the title: Journal, Review, Studies, Research, Quarterly, or Annals
  • Look for Volume and Issue Number
  • Look for a month or season in the publication date

Use the Journal vs Book Chart to distinguish between a book or journal. If you're not sure, search for the publication title as an exact phrase in Google Advanced Search.

Citing Tips:

  • Locate the source citation information at the end or the beginning of the essay.
  • Remember to check the essay's introduction for information you can use in your annotation.

How do I know if the original source is a book?

  • Look for these words to indicate a publisher: press, company, books, house, publishers
  • Look for an editor
  • Look for a copyright year

Use the Journal vs Book Chart to distinguish between a book or journal. If you're not sure, search for the publication title as an exact phrase in Google Advanced Search.

Citing Tips:

  • Locate the source citation information at the beginning and/or the end of the essay.
  • Remember to check the essay's introduction for information you can use in your annotation.

Database Articles

Citing Online Database Articles

Most online database articles are digitized directly from a book, journal, magazine, newspaper, or reference source. Articles written by the database company and timelines specifically created for the database are considered "original database content." 

Examine the source citation information at the beginning or end of the article to determine the original source. Click on the Citation Database Samples tutorial for help identifying parts of a citation.

If you see Originally published as in your citation, you may have a reprint from an anthology. Consult the Reprinted Articles from an Anthology/Collection in a Database tutorials at the bottom of the page.

 

Citing Book Sections from an Online Database

How do I know if the original source is a book?

  • Look for these words to indicate a publisher: press, company, books, house, publishers
  • Look for an editor
  • Look for a copyright year

If you're not sure, search for the publication title as an exact phrase in Google Advanced Search, Amazon Advanced Book Search, or the Library of Congress catalog.

 

Citing Journal Articles from an Online Database

How do I know if the original source is a journal?

  • Look for these words in the title: Journal, Review, Studies, Research, Quarterly, or Annals
  • Look for Volume and Issue Number
  • Look for a month or season in the publication date

​If you're not sure, search for the publication title as an exact phrase in Google Advanced Search or JournalSeek.

 

Citing Magazine Articles from an Online Database

How do I know if the original source is a magazine?

  • Look for these words in the title: Magazine, Digest, Illustrated, Popular,  or Weekly
  • Look for a month or season in the publication date

 

If you're not sure, search for the publication title as an exact phrase in Google Advanced Search.

 

Citing Newspaper Articles from an Online Database

How do I know if the original source is a newspaper?

  • Look for these words in the title: Chronicle, Daily, Enquirer, Express, Gazette, Herald, News, Post, Record, Telegraph, or Times
  • Look for a place (city) in the title e.g., New York Times
  • A section in the page number e.g., A10
  • Look for a month and day in the publication date

If you're not sure, search for the title as an exact phrase in Google Advanced Search.

 

Citing Original Content published by a Database

How do I know if the content was published by the database?

  • Look for a similarity in the name of the source and the name of the database

 

 

Citing Reference Articles from an Online Database

How do I know if the original source is a reference source?

  • Look for these words in the title: Almanac, Dictionary, Encyclopedia, Factbook, Gazetteer, Handbook, Yearbook
  • Look for an editor
  • Look for a copyright year

If you're not sure, search for the publication title as an exact phrase in Google Advanced Search, Amazon Advanced Book Search, or the Library of Congress catalog.

 

Citing Videos from an Online Database

This tutorial is only for citing videos or video clips accessed through an online database.  If you are citing the transcript of a video clip or a sound recording only, this is not the tutorial to follow.

 

Citing Tips:

  • Make the following selections in NoodleTools:
    • ​
    •  (for full videos/films)  OR   (for shorter clips or portions of full recordings) OR 

​​                         (for TV episodes published online

Cite Literary Criticism Anthologies (Print or In-hand)

How do I know if the original source is a journal?

  • Look for these words in the title: Journal, Review, Studies, Research, Quarterly, or Annals
  • Look for Volume and Issue Number
  • Look for a month or season in the publication date

Use the Journal vs. Book Chart to distinguish between a book or journal. If you're not sure, search for the publication title as an exact phrase in Google Advanced Search.

Citing Tips:

  • Locate the source citation information at the beginning or end of the essay.
  • Remember to check the essay's introduction for information you can use in your annotation.

How do I know if the original source is a book?

  • Look for these words to indicate a publisher: press, company, books, house, publishers
  • Look for an editor
  • Look for a copyright year

Use the Journal vs. Book Chart to distinguish between a book or journal. If you're not sure, search for the publication title as an exact phrase in Google Advanced Search.

Citing Tips:

  • Locate the source citation information at the beginning or end of the essay.
  • Remember to check the essay's introduction for information you can use in your annotation.

Cite Print Reference Books (Print or In-hand)

When citing from literary criticism reference books you must look at the information you are using and determine the type of source.

  • If the article was written for the reference source (ex: encyclopedia), you will cite it as a reference article. Ex. Beacham's Encyclopedia of Popular Fiction
  • If the article is a reprint from a book, journal, newspaper, etc. you will cite it as a reprinted article.

Citing Tips:

  • Locate the source citation information at the beginning or end of the essay.
  • Remember to check the essay's introduction for information you can use in your annotation.

Website Articles

Citing Website Information

Website articles are sometimes digitized directly from a journal, magazine, newspaper, or reference sources. Articles written specifically for the website are considered "original webpage content."  A blog is an online source that is composed of dated "posts", is usually in reverse chronological order, may contain "blog" in the title, and may be created using a blog service such as Blogger or WordPress (seen in URL).

Examine the website information at the top and at the bottom of the site to determine source elements. Click on the Website Content Examples tutorial for help identifying elements for your citations.

 

Citing Blog Articles from a Website

How do I know if the original source is a blog?

  • A blog is an online source that is:
    • Composed of dated "posts"
    • Usually posted in reverse chronological order
    • May contain "blog" in the title
    • May be created using a blog service such as Blogger or WordPress (seen in URL).

If you're not sure, search for the publication title as an exact phrase in Google Advanced Search.

 

Citing Journal Articles from a Website

How do I know if the original source is a journal?

  • Look for these words in the title: Journal, Review, Studies, Research, Quarterly, or Annals
  • Look for Volume and Issue Number
  • Look for a month or season in the publication date

​If you're not sure, search for the publication title as an exact phrase in Google Advanced Search or JournalSeek.

 

Citing Magazine Articles from a Website

How do I know if the original source is a magazine?

  • Look for these words in the title: Magazine, Digest, Illustrated, Popular,  or Weekly
  • Look for a month or season in the publication date
  • Look for a Subscribe option on the website

 

If you're not sure, search for the publication title as an exact phrase in Google Advanced Search.

 

Citing Newspaper Articles from a Website

How do I know if the original source is a newspaper?

  • Look for these words in the title: Chronicle, Daily, Enquirer, Express, Gazette, Herald, News, Post, Record, Telegraph, or Times
  • Look for a place (city) in the title e.g., New York Times
  • A section in the page number e.g., A10
  • Look for a month and day in the publication date

Check the beginning and the end of the article to note any mention of print publication information.  For example, a newspaper article from The New York Times that was also published on their website would say, "A version of this article appears in print on..."

If you're not sure, search for the title as an exact phrase in Google Advanced Search.

 

Citing Original Content published on a Website

How do I know if the content was published specifically for the website?

  • Go to the website's About Us page to discover more about the site
  • If you see the following, then your content IS NOT original to the site and you should select the corresponding tab above:
    • Look for these words in the title: Journal, Review, Studies, Research, Quarterly, or Annals (Journal articles)
    • Look for these words in the title: Magazine, Digest, Illustrated, Popular,  or Weekly (Magazine articles)
    • Look for a day and/or month or season in the publication date (Journal or Magazine articles)
    • Look for these words in the title: Chronicle, Daily, Enquirer, Express, Gazette, Herald, News, Post, Record, Telegraph, or Times (Newspaper articles)
    • Look for a place (city) in the title e.g., New York Times (Newspaper articles)
    • A section in the page number e.g., A10 (Newspaper articles)

If you're not sure, search for the publication title as an exact phrase in Google Advanced Search.

 

Citing Reference Articles from a Website

How do I know if the original source is a reference source?

  • Look for these words in the title: Almanac, Dictionary, Encyclopedia, Factbook, Gazetteer, Handbook, Yearbook

If you're not sure, search for the publication title as an exact phrase in Google Advanced Search, Amazon Advanced Book Search, or the Library of Congress catalog. 

 

Citing Videos from a Website

This tutorial is only for citing videos or video clips accessed through a website.  If you are citing the transcript of a video clip or a sound recording only, this is not the tutorial to follow.

Citing Tips:

  • Make the following selections in NoodleTools:
    • ​
    •  (for full videos/films)  OR   (for shorter clips or portions of full recordings) OR 

​​                         (for TV episodes published online) 

Citing the Novel

Citing the Primary Work Tip:

Use the title page and copyright page to locate publication information for your citation.

Citing eBooks You Read Online Tips:

  • Make the following selections in NoodleTools:

    • Database 
    • Book

  • Be sure to complete citation information for each container:

    • The database (Gale Virtual Reference Library, EBSCO eBook Collection, Destiny Discover, MackinVIA, OverDrive, website, etc.)

    • The book

Citing eBooks You Downloaded on an eReader Tips:

  • ​Make the following selections in NoodleTools:

    • File, app, ebook
    • E-Book

 

Use the Literary Analysis Annotation Generator for help creating annotations for your citations.

Citing the Primary Work from an Anthology Tips:

  • Make the following selections in NoodleTools:
    • Print or in-hand 
    • Anthology/Collection

  • Be sure to complete citation information for each container:

    • The original work (Use the acknowledgements page and Google search results to determine original publication information)

    • The anthology (Use the title page and copyright page for anthology publication information)