Skip to Main Content

Primary Sources

Primary research links and resources pathfinder.

Helpful Resources for Citing

Steps for Citing Sources

Follow these steps to create your works cited citations:

1. Determine the original source of your article. Remember: Titles of articles are in "quotation marks." Titles of sources follow the first set of quotation marks and are typically in italics.

  • For print sources, use the Determining Original Source Tutorial in the "General Citation Tutorials" box on the left for help determining your original source type.
  • For any type of source, try using Google Advanced Search from the "Citation Tools" box on the left to search for the title of your source as an exact word/phrase.

​2. Select the appropriate box for your source from the options below.

3. Select the appropriate tutorial for your source by choosing a tab and middle-clicking the tutorial to open it.

3. Cite your source using the tutorial as a guide.

  • For database sources, use the Citation Database Elements tutorial in the "General Citation Tutorials" box on the left for help decoding database citations.
  • For database sources, refer to the Permalink Tutorial in the "General Citation Tutorials" box on the left for step-by-step directions on locating a permanent URL for your citation. 

4.  Use the Annotation Generator on the left for help to create annotations for your citations.

5.  Export your list of works cited from NoodleTools and insert at the end your paper.

Reprinted Articles from an Anthology/Collection (Print In-hand Book)

Citing Reprinted Articles from an Anthology/Collection (Print In-Hand Book)

An anthology is a collection of short works usually by different contributors. You may be familiar with literature anthologies of short stories, poems, and essays. Nonfiction anthologies are typically collections of reprinted magazine, journal, or newspaper articles or sections from books. Sometimes you will find other reprinted content in anthologies such as web documents, speeches, court testimony, etc.

Look for the original source citation information at the bottom of the first page of the reprinted article. You must give credit to the original source and the anthology.

Citing Reprinted Journal Articles from an Anthology/Collection (Print Book)

How do I know if the original source is a journal?

  • Look for these words in the title: Journal, Review, Studies, Research, Quarterly, or Annals
  • Look for Volume and Issue Number
  • Look for a month or season in the publication date

​If you're not sure, search for the publication title as an exact phrase in Google Advanced Search or JournalSeek.

Citing Tips:

  • Locate the source citation information at the bottom of the first page of the article
  • Make the following selections in NoodleTools:
    • Print or in-hand
    • Reprinted ​Article
    • Journal: Journal article reprinted or excerpted in an anthology/collection.
  • Be sure to complete citation information for each container:
  • Use the Annotation Generator for help creating annotations for your citations. Remember to check the essay's introduction for information you can use in your annotation.

Citing Reprinted Magazine Articles from an Anthology/Collection (Print Book)

How do I know if the original source is a magazine?

  • Look for these words in the title: Magazine, Digest, Illustrated, Popular,  or Weekly
  • Look for a day and/or month or season in the publication date

If you're not sure, search for the publication title as an exact phrase in Google Advanced Search.

Citing Tips:

  • Locate the source citation information at the bottom of the first page of the article
  • Make the following selections in NoodleTools:
    • Print or in-hand
    • Reprinted ​Article
    • Magazine: Magazine article reprinted or excerpted in an anthology/collection.
  • Use the Annotation Generator for help creating annotations for your citations. Remember to check the essay's introduction for information you can use in your annotation.

Citing Reprinted Newspaper Articles from an Anthology/Collection (Print Book)

How do I know if the original source is a newspaper?

  • Look for these words in the title: Chronicle, Daily, Enquirer, Express, Gazette, Herald, News, Post, Record, Telegraph, or Times
  • Look for a place (city) in the title e.g., New York Times
  • A section in the page number e.g., A10
  • Look for a month or season in the publication date

Search for the title as an exact phrase in Google Advanced Search.

Citing Tips:

  • Locate the source citation information at the bottom of the first page of the article
  • Make the following selections in NoodleTools:
    • Print or in-hand
    • Reprinted ​Article
    • Newspaper: Newspaper article reprinted or excerpted in an anthology/collection.
  • Use the Annotation Generator for help creating annotations for your citations. Remember to check the essay's introduction for information you can use in your annotation.

Citing Reprinted Web Page Articles from an Anthology/Collection (Print Book)

How do I know if the original source is a web page or other source?

  • Look for a domain e.g. .com, .org, .gov
  • Look for speech, court case, testimony, etc. 

If you're not sure, search for the publication title as an exact phrase in Google Advanced Search.

Citing Tips:

  • Locate the source citation information at the bottom of the first page of the article
  • Make the following selections in NoodleTools:
    • Print or in-hand
    • Anthology/Collection (Poems, Stories, etc.)
  • Use the Annotation Generator for help creating annotations for your citations. Remember to check the essay's introduction for information you can use in your annotation.

Database Articles

Citing Online Database Articles

Most online database articles are digitized directly from a book, journal, magazine, newspaper, or reference source. Articles written by the database company and timelines specifically created for the database are considered "original database content." 

Examine the source citation information at the beginning or end of the article to determine the original source. Click on the Citation Database Samples tutorial for help identifying parts of a citation.

If you see Originally published as in your citation, you may have a reprint from an anthology. Consult the Reprinted Articles from an Anthology/Collection in a Database tutorials at the bottom of the page.

 

Citing Book Sections from an Online Database

How do I know if the original source is a book?

  • Look for these words to indicate a publisher: press, company, books, house, publishers
  • Look for an editor
  • Look for a copyright year

If you're not sure, search for the publication title as an exact phrase in Google Advanced Search, Amazon Advanced Book Search, or the Library of Congress catalog.

 

Citing Journal Articles from an Online Database

How do I know if the original source is a journal?

  • Look for these words in the title: Journal, Review, Studies, Research, Quarterly, or Annals
  • Look for Volume and Issue Number
  • Look for a month or season in the publication date

​If you're not sure, search for the publication title as an exact phrase in Google Advanced Search or JournalSeek.

 

Citing Magazine Articles from an Online Database

How do I know if the original source is a magazine?

  • Look for these words in the title: Magazine, Digest, Illustrated, Popular,  or Weekly
  • Look for a month or season in the publication date

 

If you're not sure, search for the publication title as an exact phrase in Google Advanced Search.

 

Citing Newspaper Articles from an Online Database

How do I know if the original source is a newspaper?

  • Look for these words in the title: Chronicle, Daily, Enquirer, Express, Gazette, Herald, News, Post, Record, Telegraph, or Times
  • Look for a place (city) in the title e.g., New York Times
  • A section in the page number e.g., A10
  • Look for a month and day in the publication date

If you're not sure, search for the title as an exact phrase in Google Advanced Search.

 

Citing Original Content published by a Database

How do I know if the content was published by the database?

  • Look for a similarity in the name of the source and the name of the database

 

 

Citing Reference Articles from an Online Database

How do I know if the original source is a reference source?

  • Look for these words in the title: Almanac, Dictionary, Encyclopedia, Factbook, Gazetteer, Handbook, Yearbook
  • Look for an editor
  • Look for a copyright year

If you're not sure, search for the publication title as an exact phrase in Google Advanced Search, Amazon Advanced Book Search, or the Library of Congress catalog.

 

Citing Videos from an Online Database

This tutorial is only for citing videos or video clips accessed through an online database.  If you are citing the transcript of a video clip or a sound recording only, this is not the tutorial to follow.

 

Citing Tips:

  • Make the following selections in NoodleTools:
    • ​
    •  (for full videos/films)  OR   (for shorter clips or portions of full recordings) OR 

​​                         (for TV episodes published online

Web Sources

Citing Website Information

Website articles are sometimes digitized directly from a journal, magazine, newspaper, or reference sources. Articles written specifically for the website are considered "original webpage content."  A blog is an online source that is composed of dated "posts", is usually in reverse chronological order, may contain "blog" in the title, and may be created using a blog service such as Blogger or WordPress (seen in URL).

Examine the website information at the top and at the bottom of the site to determine source elements. Click on the Website Content Examples tutorial for help identifying elements for your citations.

 

Citing Blog Articles from a Website

How do I know if the original source is a blog?

  • A blog is an online source that is:
    • Composed of dated "posts"
    • Usually posted in reverse chronological order
    • May contain "blog" in the title
    • May be created using a blog service such as Blogger or WordPress (seen in URL).

If you're not sure, search for the publication title as an exact phrase in Google Advanced Search.

 

Citing Journal Articles from a Website

How do I know if the original source is a journal?

  • Look for these words in the title: Journal, Review, Studies, Research, Quarterly, or Annals
  • Look for Volume and Issue Number
  • Look for a month or season in the publication date

​If you're not sure, search for the publication title as an exact phrase in Google Advanced Search or JournalSeek.

 

Citing Magazine Articles from a Website

How do I know if the original source is a magazine?

  • Look for these words in the title: Magazine, Digest, Illustrated, Popular,  or Weekly
  • Look for a month or season in the publication date
  • Look for a Subscribe option on the website

 

If you're not sure, search for the publication title as an exact phrase in Google Advanced Search.

 

Citing Newspaper Articles from a Website

How do I know if the original source is a newspaper?

  • Look for these words in the title: Chronicle, Daily, Enquirer, Express, Gazette, Herald, News, Post, Record, Telegraph, or Times
  • Look for a place (city) in the title e.g., New York Times
  • A section in the page number e.g., A10
  • Look for a month and day in the publication date

Check the beginning and the end of the article to note any mention of print publication information.  For example, a newspaper article from The New York Times that was also published on their website would say, "A version of this article appears in print on..."

If you're not sure, search for the title as an exact phrase in Google Advanced Search.

 

Citing Original Content published on a Website

How do I know if the content was published specifically for the website?

  • Go to the website's About Us page to discover more about the site
  • If you see the following, then your content IS NOT original to the site and you should select the corresponding tab above:
    • Look for these words in the title: Journal, Review, Studies, Research, Quarterly, or Annals (Journal articles)
    • Look for these words in the title: Magazine, Digest, Illustrated, Popular,  or Weekly (Magazine articles)
    • Look for a day and/or month or season in the publication date (Journal or Magazine articles)
    • Look for these words in the title: Chronicle, Daily, Enquirer, Express, Gazette, Herald, News, Post, Record, Telegraph, or Times (Newspaper articles)
    • Look for a place (city) in the title e.g., New York Times (Newspaper articles)
    • A section in the page number e.g., A10 (Newspaper articles)

If you're not sure, search for the publication title as an exact phrase in Google Advanced Search.

 

Citing Reference Articles from a Website

How do I know if the original source is a reference source?

  • Look for these words in the title: Almanac, Dictionary, Encyclopedia, Factbook, Gazetteer, Handbook, Yearbook

If you're not sure, search for the publication title as an exact phrase in Google Advanced Search, Amazon Advanced Book Search, or the Library of Congress catalog. 

 

Citing Videos from a Website

This tutorial is only for citing videos or video clips accessed through a website.  If you are citing the transcript of a video clip or a sound recording only, this is not the tutorial to follow.

Citing Tips:

  • Make the following selections in NoodleTools:
    • ​
    •  (for full videos/films)  OR   (for shorter clips or portions of full recordings) OR 

​​                         (for TV episodes published online) 

Photos, Images, and Other Works of Art

Citing Charts/Graphs, Illustrations, Photographs, and Other Works of Art

Visual art is sometimes created digitally, but may also be digitized directly from an original photograph, painting, or other work of art.  Most charts and infographics are created digitally and will contain statistical information about a topic.  Illustrations can be created both digitally or by hand, and these would include drawings, cartoons, and comic strips.  Photographs can be created both by using film or with a digital camera.  Works of Visual Art refers to sculptures, paintings, and other artwork not previously mentioned.

If you're not sure what type of artwork you are citing, examine any provided information about the image very carefully for any clues that may help.  You may also try searching for the artwork title as an exact phrase in Google Advanced Search.  If you do not see a tutorial that matches your source, ask a librarian for assistance.

Citing Charts, Tables, and Infographics

How do I know if the original source is a chart, table, or infographic?

  • Charts, Tables, Infographics contain:
    • Information presented visually
    • Minimal amount of text in charts, tables, graphs
    • Infographics are visually appealing and may contain more text than charts, tables, or graphs
    • Maps are included in this category

Citing Tips:

  • Locate the source citation information or chart/graph caption at bottom of chart/graph or page.
  • Make the following selections in NoodleTools:
    • Database OR Website OR Print or in-hand
    • Chart, Table, Infographic (Born Digital)
  • Use the Annotation Generator for help creating annotations for your citations. 

Citing Illustrations

How do I know if the original source is an illustration?

  • Illustrations contain:
    • Information presented visually
    • Minimal amount of statistics
    • Drawn or digitally-created pictures and diagrams
  • ​Illustrations are not:
    • Charts, tables, graphs, and infographics
    • Photographs
    • Works of fine art (i.e. paintings, sculptures)

Citing Tips:

  • Locate the source citation information or illustration caption at bottom of illustration or page.
  • Make the following selections in NoodleTools:
    • Database OR Website
    • Photo or Illustration
  • Use the Annotation Generator for help creating annotations for your citations. 

Citing Photographs

If the photograph is of the following:

  • Architecture
  • Artifacts
  • Works of fine art (example: paintings, sculptures)

… then you must cite the architecture, artifact, or work of fine art itself -- NOT the photograph!

(If this is the case, open “Works of Fine Art” tutorial instead.)

Citing Tips:

  • Locate the source citation information or photograph caption at bottom of photograph or page.
  • Make the following selections in NoodleTools:
    • Database OR Website
    • Photo or Illustration
  • Use the Annotation Generator for help creating annotations for your citations. 

Citing Songs

Citing a song can be tricky -- the citation elements depend on whether you heard a live version of the song, listened to a CD or mp3 recording, or watched the music video online.  Carefully consider where you located the song in order to select the appropriate tutorial below.

If you're not sure, examine any provided information about the song very carefully for any clues that may help.  If you do not see a tutorial that matches your source, ask a librarian for assistance.

Citing Works of Visual Art

Works of Visual Art include:

  • Artifacts
  • Paintings
  • Sculptures
  • Art Installations

(If you are working with a photograph of a work of visual art, please see a librarian for assistance.)

Citing Tips:

  • Locate the source citation information or caption at bottom of artwork or page.
  • Make the following selections in NoodleTools:
    • Database OR Website
    • Work of Visual Art
  • Use the Annotation Generator for help creating annotations for your citations. 

Citing Self-Created Images or Works of Art

When YOU are the artist, creator, or owner of an image or work of art, it is good practice to cite your own work to avoid confusion as to who the image or art should be credited to.

Choose , then select the best option from the NoodleTools "Create a New Citation" selection box to complete your citation.

Primary Sources

Citing Primary Sources

Primary sources are resources that contain firsthand information about a specific time period, event, or person.  When citing a primary source, it is important to identify what type of source it is first.  Primary sources include (but are not limited to): diary/journal entries, government documents (example: executive orders, resolutions, statutes), letters, interviews, press releases, speeches, surveys, and transcripts.

Keep in mind that commentaries -- thoughts, opinions, and background information -- found alongside many primary sources, are not primary source materials.  Remember to examine the information being provided -- if it is firsthand information, then you are working with a primary source.

If you're not sure what type of primary source you are citing, examine any provided information about the source very carefully for any clues that may help.  You may also try searching for the source title as an exact phrase in Google Advanced Search.

 

Citing Diary/Journal Entries

A diary or journal entry can be considered a "historical manuscript", which are original personal documents.  Although it is important to give credit to the source that a diary might have been reprinted from, it is not necessary in most cases.  The important aspect of this type of citation is the diary itself and where you accessed it from.

Keep the following in mind when citing a diary:

  • Some diaries do not have titles.  Provide one only if given an official title.
  • If citing only one diary entry, provide that entry's date in your citation.  If citing multiple entries, include only the year(s) of the diary to indicate more than one diary entry date.

Citing Government Documents

Government documents can include (at both the state and federal level): court cases, government publications, bills, resolutions, hearings/testimonies, reports, statutes, debates, executive orders, patents, and regulations.

Choose Database OR Website, then select the best option from the NoodleTools "Create a New Citation" selection box to complete your citation.

If you're not sure what type of government document you are citing, examine any provided information about the source very carefully for any clues that may help.  You may also try searching for the document title as an exact phrase in Google Advanced Search.

 

Citing Letters

A letter is another example of a primary source.  Although it is important to give credit to the source that a letter might have been reprinted from, it is not necessary in most cases.  The important aspect of this type of citation is the letter itself and where you accessed it from.

Keep the following in mind when citing a letter:

  • Most letters do not have titles.  Provide one only if given an official title.
  • Citations should include both the author and the recipient of the letter.

Citing Tips:

  • Locate the source citation information at bottom of page.  If no author is provided, review any provided commentary or the end of the letter itself.
  • Make the following selections in NoodleTools:
    • Database OR Website
    • Letter or Memo
  • Use the Annotation Generator for help creating annotations for your citations. 

 

Citing Personal Narratives

A personal narrative is an essay/article of someone's personal experience or viewpoint.  Think of it like a diary entry but written for the purpose of sharing the experience with other people.  The important aspect of this type of citation is whether or not the narrative was published and, if so, giving credit to the original source in which it was published.

 

Citing Personal Interviews

Personal interviews are interviews you conduct yourself.  Even though you are conducting your own interview, any information from the interview being used in your project needs to be cited.

Keep the following in mind when citing a personal interview:

  • Citations should include the names of both the interviewer (you) and the interviewee (person you are interviewing).
  • Format of the interview (example: interview conducted via email or an instant messaging service, conducted in person, etc.)

 

Citing Professional Interviews

Professional interviews are interviews conducted by a professional, such as a news correspondent, a journalist, a reporter, or a commentator.  Professional interviews may be published through a publication such as a magazine, journal, or newspaper, or may be published on a website.

Keep the following in mind when citing a professional interview:

  • Include the names of both the interviewer(s) (person conducting the interview) and the interviewee(s) (person being interviewed).
  • Include the original publication information, if available.  If an interview was originally printed in a magazine, journal, or newspaper prior to being published online, the original publication should be cited.

Published interview:  Interview that was originally published in a magazine, newspaper, or journal prior to being published online.

Unpublished interview:  Interview that is original online content -- information was not published in print prior to being published in a database or on a website.

 

Citing Speeches

The following tutorials show how to cite a speech whose content you are reading as text provided by a database or a website.  If you are listening to a recording of the speech, see a librarian for citation directions.

Keep the following in mind when citing a speech:

  • Some speeches may not have a formal title.
  • The date of the speech may have to be inferred.  For example, in President Roosevelt's "A Date That Will Life in Infamy" speech, he states, "Yesterday, December 7, 1941..."  You would infer that the actual date of the speech is December 8, 1941, and cite it as such.

Reprinted Articles from an Anthology/Collection in a Database

Citing Reprinted Articles from an Anthology/Collection in a Database

An anthology is a collection of short works usually by different contributors. You may be familiar with literature anthologies of short stories, poems, and essays. Nonfiction anthologies are typically collections of reprinted magazine, journal, or newspaper articles or sections from books. Sometimes you will find other reprinted content in anthologies such as web documents, speeches, court testimony or other sources.

Examine the source citation to determine if your source was reprinted in an anthology. You must give credit to:

  • the original source,
  • the anthology,
  • the database.
Look for edited by and Originally published within your database article citation.

 

 

Citing Reprinted Book Sections from an Anthology/Collection (Online Database)

(Look for Edited by and Originally published within the source citation) 

How do I know if the original source is a book?

  • Look for these words to indicate a publisher: press, company, books, house, publishers
  • Look for an editor
  • Look for a copyright year

If you're not sure, search for the publication title as an exact phrase in Google Advanced Search, Amazon Advanced Book Search, or the Library of Congress catalog.

Citing Tips:

  • Locate the source citation information at the end of the article
  • Look for Edited by and Originally published within the source citation
  • Make the following selections in NoodleTools:
    • Database
    • Reprinted ​Article
    • Book: Section or chapter of a book reprinted or excerpted in an anthology/collection.
  • Use the Annotation Generator for help creating annotations for your citations. Remember to check the essay's introduction for information you can use in your annotation.

Citing Reprinted Journal Articles from an Anthology/Collection (Online Database)

(Look for edited by and Originally published within the source citation) 

How do I know if the original source is a journal?

  • Look for these words in the title: Journal, Review, Studies, Research, Quarterly, or Annals
  • Look for Volume and Issue Number
  • Look for a month or season in the publication date

​If you're not sure, search for the publication title as an exact phrase in Google Advanced Search or JournalSeek.

Citing Tips:

  • Locate the source citation information at the end of the article
  • Look for edited by and Originally published within the source citation
  • Make the following selections in NoodleTools:
    • Database 
    • Reprinted ​Article
    • Journal: Journal article reprinted or excerpted in an anthology/collection.
  • Use the Annotation Generator for help creating annotations for your citations. Remember to check the essay's introduction for information you can use in your annotation.

Citing Reprinted Magazine Articles from an Anthology/Collection (Online Database)

(Look for edited by  and Originally published within the source citation) 

How do I know if the original source is a magazine?

  • Look for these words in the title: Magazine, Digest, Illustrated, Popular,  or Weekly
  • Look for a day and/or month or season in the publication date

If you're not sure, search for the publication title as an exact phrase in Google Advanced Search.

Citing Tips:

  • Locate the source citation information at the end of the article
  • Look for edited by and Originally published within the source citation
  • Make the following selections in NoodleTools:
    • Database 
    • Reprinted ​Article
    • Magazine: Magazine article reprinted or excerpted in an anthology/collection.
  • Use the Annotation Generator for help creating annotations for your citations. Remember to check the essay's introduction for information you can use in your annotation.

Citing Reprinted Newspaper Articles from an Anthology/Collection (Online Database)

(Look for edited by and Originally published within the source citation) 

How do I know if the original source is a newspaper?

  • Look for these words in the title: Chronicle, Daily, Enquirer, Express, Gazette, Herald, News, Post, Record, Telegraph, or Times
  • Look for a place (city) in the title e.g., New York Times
  • Look for a section in the page number e.g., A10
  • Look for a month or season in the publication date

Search for the title as an exact phrase in Google Advanced Search.

Citing Tips:

  • Locate the source citation information at the end of the article
  • Look for edited by and Originally published within the source citation
  • Make the following selections in NoodleTools:
    • Database 
    • Reprinted ​Article
    • Newspaper: Newspaper article reprinted or excerpted in an anthology/collection.
  • Use the Annotation Generator for help creating annotations for your citations. Remember to check the essay's introduction for information you can use in your annotation.

Citing Reprinted Web Page Articles from an Anthology/Collection (Online Database)

(Look for edited by and Originally published within the source citation) 

How do I know if the original source is a web page or other source?

  • Look for a domain e.g. .com, .org, .gov
  • Look for speech, court case, testimony, etc. 

If you're not sure, search for the publication title as an exact phrase in Google Advanced Search.

Citing Tips:

  • Locate the source citation information at the end of the article
  • Look for edited by and Originally published within the source citation
  • Make the following selections in NoodleTools:
    • Database 
    • Anthology/Collection (Poems, Stories, etc.)
  • Use the Annotation Generator for help creating annotations for your citations. Remember to check the essay's introduction for information you can use in your annotation.