LibGuides: Career Exploration: Accommodation and Food Services

Accommodation and Food Services

"Most of us have enjoyed a comfortable night’s rest or a delicious meal courtesy of the Accommodation and Food Services industry. This industry covers establishments that provide lodging and those that provide prepared meals, snacks, and beverages. These activities are grouped in one sector because many establishments offer both accommodation and food services." ~Career Cruising database

Career Examples:

Examples of careers in Accommodation and Food Services include...

Food Preparation
Server/waitstaff
Cook/Chef/Caterer
Housekeeping
Baker
Concierge
Event Planner
Hotel Manager
Wedding Planner

Directions:

Choose a database or link to find articles on your chosen career
Remember to cite your sources
Review the searching tutorials if you need help

Databases

Search the databases below for authoritative information on your topic.

Remember: If you are at home, you will need the passwords for each database. All passwords are on the Gold Sheet in the Library Resources Schoology.

BLS (Bureau of Labor Statistics)
Britannica Original Sources
Instant access to over 420,000 e-Works of classic, primary source, and general reference materials in: World History, U.S. History, Political Science, Law, Literature, Science, Mathematics, Social Science, Philosophy, Religion, Language, and Language Arts.
Gale eBooks
Collection of electronic nonfiction and reference books (eBooks).
JSTOR
O*Net Online
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Gale OneFile: High School Edition
Gale in Context: High School
Full-text magazines, newspapers, reference, overviews, critical essays, primary sources, and multimedia on a variety of subject areas.

Selected Web Links

Bon Appetit
Bon Appétit is an American food and entertaining magazine that is published monthly by Condé Nast.
Chef Magazine
Chef Magazine offers a unique blend of food and equipment articles, enhanced by reports on industry news and events and other cutting-edge topics affecting the success of today’s industry professional. Its departments provide case studies/profiles, tabletop ideas, business solutions, beverage trends, ingredient uses, management tips and equipment and technology.
Hotelier Magazine
Since debuting in 1989 as a quarterly publication, the magazine has grown and evolved into the authoritative voice of the dynamic $16.4 billion hotel industry. Now published eight times a year in print, and available in digital format and as an iPad App, the magazine continues to define the standard for excellence in trade magazine publishing, winning myriad editorial and design awards from the Canadian Business Press, and earning the industry’s accolades as its most-read and trusted magazine.
Nation's Restaurant News
Nation’s Restaurant News is the leading resource for business intelligence in the foodservice industry.
Restaurant Hospitality
With nearly a 100-year-history, Restaurant Hospitality is dedicated to serving the needs of independent operators, giving them inspiration and information about how to run their businesses better.