LibGuides: Career Exploration: Military Careers

Military Careers

Military Careers

Each service branch of the military has a variety of job opportunities. The military is its own community that not only protects our country but also functions as its own entity in certain situations. Below are fields in which career opportunities in the military are available:

Career Examples:

Careers in the military can vary depending on each service branch.

Examples of careers in the Military include (but are not limited to)...

Administrative Officers
Aerospace Engineers
Air Crew Members
Aircraft Mechanics
Pilots
Audio-Visual Technicians
Communications Equipment Operators
Civil Engineers
Telecommunications Managers
Electricians
Carpenters
Engineers
Emergency Management Officers
Firefighters
Industrial Engineers
Intelligence Specialists
Interpreters
Lawyers
Optometrists
Psychologists
Social Workers
Special Forces Officers
Instructors
Weapons Maintenance Technicians

Directions:

Choose a database or link to find articles on your chosen career
Remember to cite your sources
Review the searching tutorials if you need help

Databases

Search the databases below for authoritative information on your topic.

Remember: If you are at home, you will need the passwords for each database. All passwords are on the Gold Sheet in the Library Resources Schoology.

BLS (Bureau of Labor Statistics)
Guide to career information about hundreds of occupations compiled by the U.S. Department of Labor
Britannica Original Sources
Instant access to over 420,000 e-Works of classic, primary source, and general reference materials in: World History, U.S. History, Political Science, Law, Literature, Science, Mathematics, Social Science, Philosophy, Religion, Language, and Language Arts.
EBSCO Explora Secondary
Search several high-school level EBSCO databases using this interface. Features topic overviews, periodicals, and scholarly articles.
Gale eBooks
Collection of electronic nonfiction and reference books (eBooks).
JSTOR
Digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Set up a My JSTOR account to take full advantage of the database.
O*Net Online
Includes information on skills, abilities, work activities, and interests associated with over 800 occupations
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, selected web links, and periodical articles on social issues.
Points of View Reference Center
Multiple sides of current events and issues.
Smithsonian Primary Sources in US History
Includes documents, maps, historical objects, and other materials from the museums and archives from the collections of the Smithsonian.
Gale OneFile: High School Edition
Magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and reference books.
Gale in Context: High School
Full-text magazines, newspapers, reference, overviews, critical essays, primary sources, and multimedia on a variety of subject areas.
Gale in Context: U.S. History

Selected Web Links

The links below are specific to each service branch of the military. For industry-specific trade journals, please select an industry from the blue tabs at the top of the webpage.

Air Force Magazine
Air Force Magazine is the monthly journal of the Air Force Association and one of the world's foremost publications in the fields of defense and aerospace reporting. From Air Force operations, programs, and people to the exploits of USAF’s heroes, Air Force Magazine reports on important aerospace news and developments and provides authoritative background material.
Airman Magazine
Airman Magazine is the official magazine of the United States Air Force and reports on information and news about and of interest to Air Force members and their families.
ARMY Magazine
ARMY, a monthly magazine, focuses each month on professional development, education strategy, doctrine and other current and historical topics.
U.S. Army Publications
Link to several official publications of the U.S. Army.
U.S. Coast Guard
Official homepage for the U.S. Coast Guard
Marine Corps Gazette
The Gazette's content is written by Marines, for Marines. Our authors and readers are primarily today's Marines of all ranks, and we publish articles of various lengths covering all elements of the Marine Air-Ground Task Force and current operations as well as a wide range of Marine Corps- and defense-related topics. We also publish commentary, letters, book reviews, speculative fiction about future war, and tactical decision games and special notices of significant current views.
Marines
Publication page for the official website of the United States Marine Corps
All Hands Magazine
All Hands Magazine is produced by the Defense Media Activity for U.S. Navy Office of Information.
National Guard Magazine
NATIONAL GUARD is the official publication of NGAUS, which has been in print since 1947 when it was known as The National Guardsmen. The magazine features articles about legislation and developments affecting the National Guard, with topics such as the defense budget, equipment, education, retirement and health care.