LibGuides: Career Exploration: Utilities

Utilities

Utilities

"A complex system of services is in place that affects nearly every activity we do, helping us perform our work and live comfortably. The system operates 24 hours a day, 365 days a year, even though you may hardly notice or think of it. However, if one of these services was gone or broken, you’d definitely notice it right away! These services are known as utilities.

Utilities include electric power, natural gas, the creation and distribution of clean water, and the removal of sewage and wastewater. Establishments in the Utilities industry provide these services to our homes and businesses." ~Career Cruising database

Career Examples:

Examples of careers in Utilities include...

Electrical Engineers
Landmen
Lineworkers
Nuclear Engineers
Power Plant Operators
Water Treatment Plant Operators

Directions:

Choose a database or link to find articles on your chosen career
Remember to cite your sources
Review the searching tutorials if you need help

Databases

Search the databases below for authoritative information on your topic.

Remember: If you are at home, you will need the passwords for each database. All passwords are on the Gold Sheet in the Library Resources Schoology.

BLS (Bureau of Labor Statistics) This link opens in a new window
Guide to career information about hundreds of occupations compiled by the U.S. Department of Labor
EBSCO Explora Secondary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search several high-school level EBSCO databases using this interface. Features topic overviews, periodicals, and scholarly articles.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Collection of electronic nonfiction and reference books (eBooks).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Set up a My JSTOR account to take full advantage of the database.
O*Net Online This link opens in a new window
Includes information on skills, abilities, work activities, and interests associated with over 800 occupations
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, selected web links, and periodical articles on social issues.
Gale in Context: Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: High School Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and reference books.
Gale in Context: High School This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text magazines, newspapers, reference, overviews, critical essays, primary sources, and multimedia on a variety of subject areas.

Selected Web Links

FacilitiesNet
The only magazine for facility maintenance and engineering managers.
AreaDevelopment
Area Development magazine covers corporate site selection and relocation. Editorial coverage provides valuable information pertinent to the factors, key issues, and criteria that affect a successful decision.
Chemical & Engineering News
At Chemical & Engineering News (C&EN), we’re committed to keeping you up to date with the chemistry news that matters most. Our reporters and editors track important research advances, business and policy trends, chemical safety practices, career guidance, and more.
Engineering & Technology Magazine
E&T covers all areas of engineering and technology through exclusive news, features, analysis, announcements and job adverts. The scope of E&T’s coverage is very broad and is aimed at professionals working in all areas of engineering and technology, including the key industry sectors of the built environment, design and production, energy, information and communications and transport.
Engineering Magazine
Engineering magazine reports on the latest industry thinking, techniques and trends. Featuring the work of engineering teams worldwide, it is not only essential reading for those in the industry but also companies to maintain competitive advantage.
POWER
POWER provides the most important business operations and legal and regulatory news, as well as operations and maintenance information, for the power generation industry. Through POWER, industry professionals learn about best practices, safety issues, improved productivity, and more.
Power Engineering
Power Engineering Online provides up-to-the-minute energy news, stock quotes, five years of searchable editorial archives, power generation conference schedule and details, and an industry product and services guide.
Treatment Plant Operator Magazine
A magazine for wastewater and water operators, engineers and lab technicians, covers municipal and industrial treatment plants.
Water Technology
Water Technology has been committed to providing water treatment professionals with the knowledge that helps them to effectively manage and grow business, developing content through reader visits, consultations with industry insiders and in-depth online surveys.