LibGuides: Career Exploration: Professional, Scientific, and Technical Services

Professional, Scientific, and Technical Services

"Establishments in this industry offer professional, scientific, and technical expertise and services to clients in other industries and to individuals.

The key commodity in this industry is human capital: workers’ high level of expertise and training in specialized areas. Production and output depend on workers’ skills and knowledge, rather than on equipment and materials, which play a relatively small role.

Areas of expertise offered by establishments in this industry include:

• Accounting, tax preparation, bookkeeping, and payroll
• Advertising and public relations
• Architecture and engineering
• Computer systems design, programming, and related activities
• Interior, industrial, and graphic design
• Legal advice and representation
• Management, scientific, and technical consulting
• Marketing research
• Photography
• Scientific research and development
• Translation and interpretation
• Veterinary services

Clients include establishments in the goods-producing industries, such as manufacturing, construction, and mining, as well as other service industries, governments, and in some areas of expertise, even households. " ~Career Cruising database

Career Examples:

Examples of careers in Professional, Scientific, and Technical Services include...

Accountants
Actuaries
Advertising
Aerospace Engineers
Agricultural Engineers
Agronomists
Animal Caretakers
Animators
Anthropologists
Archaeologists
Architects
Art Directors
Astronomers
Auditors
Biochemists
Bioethicists
Biologists
Biomedical Engineers
Bookkeepers
Botanists
Building Inspectors
Business System Analysts
Butchers
Career Coaches
Cartographers
Chemical Engineers
Chemists
Civil Engineers
Civil Litigators
Comedians
Communications Specialists
Computer Animators
Computer Programmers
Computer Software Engineers
Corporate Lawyers
Criminal Lawyers
Criminologists
Customs Brokers
Database Developers
Digital Media Specialists
Drafters
E-Business Consultants
Ecologists
Economists
Electrical Engineers
Environmental Consultants
Environmental Engineers
Environmental Health Inspectors
Epidemiologists
Food Scientists
Geneticists
Geologists
Graphic Designers
Historians
Home Inspectors
Human Resource Specialists
Hydrologists
Industrial Engineer
Interior Decorators and Designers
Interpreters
IT Project Managers
Land Surveyors
Landscape Architects
Lawyers
Legal Secretaries
Lobbyists
Logistics Specialists
Management Consultants
Marine Biologists
Market Research Analysts
Marketing Specialists
Mathematicians
Mechanical Engineers
Media Buyers
Mediators
Medical Illustrators
Meteorologists
Microbiologists
Nuclear Engineers
Oceanographers
Office Managers
Paleontologists
Paralegals
Pet Groomers
Petroleum Engineers
Photographers
Photojournalists
Physicists
Public Relations Specialists
Quality Controllers
Recruiters
Research Analysts
Researchers
Sales Representatives
Scientists
Sociologists
Sports Marketers
Statisticians
Tax Preparers
Technical Writers
Translators
Veterinarians
Veterinary Technicians
Video Game Developers
Web Developers
Zoologists

Directions:

Choose a database or link to find articles on your chosen career
Remember to cite your sources
Review the searching tutorials if you need help

Databases

Search the databases below for authoritative information on your topic.

Remember: If you are at home, you will need the passwords for each database. All passwords are on the Gold Sheet in the Library Resources Schoology.

BLS (Bureau of Labor Statistics) This link opens in a new window
Guide to career information about hundreds of occupations compiled by the U.S. Department of Labor
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EBSCO Explora Secondary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Collection of electronic nonfiction and reference books (eBooks).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Set up a My JSTOR account to take full advantage of the database.
O*Net Online This link opens in a new window
Includes information on skills, abilities, work activities, and interests associated with over 800 occupations
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, selected web links, and periodical articles on social issues.
Gale in Context: Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Text, video, image, and statistical information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other reliable sources. Also includes more than 280,000 high-quality science images from sources such as UPI, Getty, NASA, National Geographic, and the Nature Picture Library.
Gale OneFile: High School Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and reference books.
Gale in Context: High School This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text magazines, newspapers, reference, overviews, critical essays, primary sources, and multimedia on a variety of subject areas.

Selected Web Links

Accounting Today
Accounting Today is the leading information resource for public accountants – serving the community of professionals who provide tax preparation, bookkeeping, auditing, financial planning, and business advisory and consulting services to individuals and small businesses. Accounting Today is sharply focused on the industry’s most important concerns, including tax law, accounting standards, technology, audit and assurance, and wealth management.
The Actuary
The Actuary provides information to SOA members across all areas of practice by presenting articles on topics of interest to actuaries.
Ad Age
Ad Age is a daily must-read for an influential audience of decision makers and disruptors across the marketing and media landscape.
Adweek
Adweek is the leading source of news and insight serving the brand marketing ecosystem.
Aerospace & Defense Technology
Aerospace & Defense Technology is born from the blending of two great current publications—Defense Tech Briefs and Aerospace Engineering. It brings together the latest advances from the U.S. Department of Defense, NASA, and other major industry leaders. Aerospace & Defense Technology is the largest-circulation engineering magazine for the commercial and military aerospace market.
Aerospace Manufacturing
Aerospace Manufacturing has grown to become the leading business-to-business publication that focuses on the design, production and supply chain elements of the civil and defence aerospace sectors. Published 10 times each year, the magazine provides industry news and exclusive features on the latest technologies, along with comment from key aerospace organisations and industry figureheads.
Agronomy Journal
Agronomy Journal (AJ) is a peer-reviewed international journal of agriculture and natural resource sciences. AJ is published six times a year by the American Society of Agronomy, with articles relating to original research in soil science, crop science, agroclimatology and agronomic modeling, and production agriculture.
American Association of Meat Processors
A variety of publications are available that pertain to the meat industry. Most of these publications are free and some can email daily news directly to you. A variety of useful educational material can be downloaded and printed.
American Association of Zoo Keepers
Serving as a professional organization for zookeepers, AAZK is a valuable resource for dedicated animal care workers.
The American Historian
The American Historian will cover the broad variety of needs and interests of our members, including primary and secondary teaching, professional development, research, recent scholarship, public history, digital history, and contemporary debates about the past.
The American Journal of Bioethics
The American Journal of Bioethics provides an authoritative, annotated conversation that has been used by judges, Senators, journalists, scholars, schoolteachers, and millions of others as the key source on thousands of topics in the health sciences.
The American Surveyor
Trade journal that contains topical news and information, technology expertise, and product reviews involving all aspects of land surveying.
Animation Magazine
Animation Magazine is the largest animation website and only international magazine in the world devoted to breaking daily news and in-depth articles.
ANIMATION World Magazine
The first and only electronic publication dedicated to the art, craft and industry of the international animation community. On average, AWN publishes 2-5 new articles a week giving an in-depth look into the vast arenas of the animation community.
Aquaculture Magazine
Aquaculture Magazine was a pioneer magazine in the world´s aquaculture industry: it has been published since 1968 in Asheville, North Carolina, with audited distribution on the five continents.
Archaeology
ARCHAEOLOGY magazine offers compelling narratives about the human past from every corner of the globe. Edited for a general audience, our news, features, and photo essays employ in-depth reporting, cogent analysis, and vivid storytelling to provide an accurate and often surprisingly intimate look at the record of human existence.
Architectural Digest
Architectural Digest is a monthly celebration of international design talents, innovative homes and products, inspiring decorating ideas, culture, and travel.
Architectural Digest
Architectural Digest is a monthly celebration of international design talents, innovative homes and products, inspiring decorating ideas, culture, and travel.
ASHI Reporter
The magazine delivers practical inspection and business information and reports association news. Home inspection professionals share their knowledge and expertise with members in every issue. And all readers enjoy the over-the-top photographs in "Postcards From The Field."
Astronomy
Astronomy offers you the most exciting visually stunning thorough, and timely coverage of the heavens above. Each monthly issue includes expert science reporting, vivid color photography, complete sky-event coverage, spot-on observing tips, informative telescope reviews, and more. All of this comes in an easy-to-understand user-friendly style that's perfect for astronomers at any level.
Attorney At Law Magazine
Attorney at Law Magazine® is a national network of local legal trade magazines, bringing insight into legal marketing and practice management.
Biochemistry
Biochemistry provides an international forum for publishing exceptional, rigorous, high-impact research across all of biological chemistry. This broad scope includes studies on the chemical, physical, mechanistic, and/or structural basis of biological or cell function, and encompasses the fields of chemical biology, synthetic biology, disease biology, cell biology, nucleic acid biology, neuroscience, structural biology, and biophysics.
Business and Professional Communication Quarterly
Business and Professional Communication Quarterly (BPCQ) is the only refereed journal devoted to research that advances the teaching of communication in the workplace. BPCQ publishes scholarship that advances knowledge about business and professional communication pedagogy and praxis in both academic and workplace settings. Articles in BPCQ present a variety of theoretical, applied, and practical approaches and perspectives.
Cartography and Geographic Information Science
Cartography and Geographic Information Science (CaGIS) is the official publication of the Cartography and Geographic Information Society. The Society supports research, education, and practices that improve the understanding, creation, analysis, and use of maps and geographic information.
CEP Magazine
Each issue of CEP is packed with practical information you can apply to current or future projects. Gain insight on technical issues like safety, environmental management, fluids and solids handling, reactions and separations, information technology, and more.
Chemical & Engineering News
At Chemical & Engineering News (C&EN), we’re committed to keeping you up to date with the chemistry news that matters most. Our reporters and editors track important research advances, business and policy trends, chemical safety practices, career guidance, and more.
Chemical Engineering
hemical Engineering is published monthly by Access Intelligence, primarily for chemical engineers and related technical people in the chemical process industries (CPI), as well as at engineering, design and construction companies that serve the CPI.
Civil Engineering
Established in 1930, Civil Engineering is the award-winning monthly flagship magazine of the American Society of Civil Engineers.
Communication Arts
Communication Arts magazine is the leading trade journal for visual communications, and the largest creative magazine in the world.
Communication World
Communication World (CW), the digital magazine of the International Association of Business Communicators, is a must-read publication for communication professionals worldwide. CW covers the latest in communication trends, practice and research through in-depth reports, how-to articles and insightful interviews.
ComputerWorld
Computerworld focuses on empowering enterprise users and their managers, helping them create business advantage by skillfully exploiting today's abundantly powerful web, mobile, and desktop applications. Computerworld also offers guidance to IT managers tasked with optimizing client systems—and helps businesses revolutionize the customer and employee experience with new collaboration platforms.
ComputerWorld
Computerworld focuses on empowering enterprise users and their managers, helping them create business advantage by skillfully exploiting today's abundantly powerful web, mobile, and desktop applications. Computerworld also offers guidance to IT managers tasked with optimizing client systems—and helps businesses revolutionize the customer and employee experience with new collaboration platforms.
Contexts
Contexts is a quarterly magazine that makes cutting-edge social research accessible to general readers. The magazine includes feature articles, culture and book reviews, and photography, as well as analysis of the latest social science research.
Criminal Justice
Criminal Justice magazine, published quarterly by the Criminal Justice Section of the American Bar Association, is intended for a national audience of defense lawyers, prosecutors, judges, academics, and other criminal justice professionals with a focus on the practice and policy issues of the criminal justice system.
DBIO: Top 100 Journals in Biology and Medicine
In conjunction with SLA’s Centennial, the BioMedical & Life Sciences Division conducted a poll to identify the 100 most influential journals of Biology & Medicine. Numerous links are included to a wide variety of biology subfields.
Discover Magazine
Discover magazine reports captivating developments in science, medicine, technology, and the world around us. Spectacular photography and refreshingly understandable stories on complex subjects connect everyday people with the greatest ideas and minds in science.
Dispute Resolution Magazine
Dispute Resolution Magazine serves as a clearinghouse of information on programs related to the study of existing methods for the prompt and effective resolution of disputes.
Earth Magazine
EARTH Magazine, published by the American Geosciences Institute (AGI), is dedicated to providing accurate and verifiable information — as well as a diversity of factually informed opinions — reported by scientists, authors, journalists and editors. The goal is to inform the public of events, discoveries and ongoing progress in geoscientific research.
Engineering & Technology Magazine
E&T covers all areas of engineering and technology through exclusive news, features, analysis, announcements and job adverts. The scope of E&T’s coverage is very broad and is aimed at professionals working in all areas of engineering and technology, including the key industry sectors of the built environment, design and production, energy, information and communications and transport.
Epidemiology
Epidemiology: Open Access (ECR) is a broad-based journal found on two key tenets: To publish the most exciting researches related to Epidemiology: Second to provide a rapid turn-around time possible for reviewing and publishing of articles for research, teaching and reference purposes.
Frontiers in Ecology and the Environment
Frontiers in Ecology and the Environment, issued 10 times per year, consists of peer-reviewed, synthetic review articles on all aspects of ecology, the environment, and related disciplines, as well as short, high-impact research communications of broad interdisciplinary appeal.
Genome
In every issue, Genome explores complicated subjects concerning genomics and medicine — and the associated ethical, legal, and social issues — but tells those stories in a relevant, easy-to-understand manner. We also examine the issues that affect our readers on a daily basis, including personal health topics like diet, exercise, sleep, spirituality, and many more.
Geology
The journal Geology publishes timely, innovative, and provocative articles relevant to its international audience, representing research from all fields of the geosciences. Full-text available for all issues.
Grooming Business
The content on GroomingBusiness.com provides vital how-to information on all aspects of running a profitable salon. Articles focus on the art and science of grooming, as well as legal, financial and operational advice. It provides in-depth coverage of topics relevant to pet stylists, including equipment features, marketing ideas and step-by-step instructions on grooming specific dog breeds.
HOME BUSINESS Magazine
HOME BUSINESS Magazine Online is an advanced community for home-based entrepreneurs and business owners.
HR Magazine
With a circulation of more than 275,000, HR Magazine is the most widely read and respected human resources publication in the world.
Human Resource Executive
Written primarily for vice presidents and directors of human resources, the magazine provides these key decision-makers with news, profiles of HR visionaries and success stories of human resource innovators. Stories cover all areas of human resource management, including talent management, benefits, healthcare training and development, HR information systems, relocation, retirement planning, and employment law.
Hydrology
Hydrology is an international, multi/interdisciplinary open access and peer-reviewed journal that focuses on hydrological sciences. The journal encompasses all aspects of hydrology: groundwater, surface water, soil water, and atmospheric water, as well as snow and ice.
Interior Design Magazine
For over 80 years, Interior Design magazine—published by SANDOW, which builds smart businesses driven by innovation and design—has been the essential design authority for every professional, on all projects, throughout the design process.
International Journal of Sports Marketing and Sponsorship
The International Journal of Sports Marketing and Sponsorship provides a vital resource to both academic and industry experts. For academics it is an opportunity to publish the highest quality, peer-reviewed research. Practitioners can use the information to find important data, develop strategies, create presentations and understand how the industry is changing.
International Trade Today
International Trade Today delivers the latest news on import/export regulation, legislation and market transactions that affect business.
The Journal of American History
The Journal of American History is the leading scholarly publication in the field of American history and is well known as the major resource for the study, investigation, and teaching of our nation's past.
Journal of Marine Biology and Oceanography
Journal of Marine Biology & Oceanography is a peer-reviewed scholarly journal that aims to publish the most complete and reliable source of information on the discoveries and current developments in the form of original articles, full/mini reviews, commentaries, letter to editor, rapid/short communications, etc. in all areas pertaining to marine biology and oceanography, making them available online freely without any restrictions or subscription to researchers worldwide.
Journal of Marine Biology and Oceanography
Journal of Marine Biology & Oceanography is a peer-reviewed scholarly journal that aims to publish the most complete and reliable source of information on the discoveries and current developments in the form of original articles, full/mini reviews, commentaries, letter to editor, rapid/short communications, etc. in all areas pertaining to marine biology and oceanography, making them available online freely without any restrictions or subscription to researchers worldwide.
Journal of Technical Writing and Communication
The Journal of Technical Writing and Communication (JTWC) is one of several prestigious international scholarly journals in the field of technical and professional communications. Published quarterly, JTWC strives to meet the diverse communication needs of industry, management, government, and academia. This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).
The Journal of the Institute of Food Science & Technology
IFST’s quarterly magazine is the easy way to stay up-to-date with emerging issues in food. From mainstream topics of the day to complex scientific debates, our leading contributors from around the world ensure that every edition is packed full of must-read articles. You’ll find feature length editorials that really get to the bottom of ‘the big questions’ alongside interviews with the sector’s leading experts, opinion pieces, book reviews, and new products and services.
Journal of Zoology
The Journal of Zoology publishes high-quality research papers on all aspects of zoology. Journal of Zoology has been listed as one of the 100 Most Influential Journals in Biology & Medicine over the last 100 Years, as voted by the BioMedical & Life Sciences Division of the Special Libraries Association.
Landscape Architecture Magazine
Landscape Architecture Magazine (LAM) is the monthly magazine of the American Society of Landscape Architects. It is the magazine of record for the landscape architecture profession in North America.
Legacy
Legacy, NAI's premier periodical, offers a forum for professionals in the field to exchange ideas and information. Articles, columns, and commentaries deal with practical issues relevant to frontline interpreters, planners, and managers.
Legal Secretary Journal
The official journal of the Institute of Legal Secretaries and PAs (U.K. based).
Microbe Magazine
Microbe is the monthly news magazine of the American Society for Microbiology.
Microbiology Today
Microbiology Today is the Society's quarterly magazine. The magazine aims to provide informative and enjoyable broad-interest articles for all readers, including parliamentarians and policy-makers. Each issue focuses on a topic, and topics are chosen with the aim of covering all fields of microbiology.
Modern Analyst
Modern Analyst e-Journal is the premier on-line publication for business analysts, systems analysts, and other professionals involved in business systems.
National Press Photographers Association
Official page of the National Press Photographers Association
Nature Ecology & Evolution
Nature Ecology & Evolution publishes the highest quality research, reviews and comment in all areas of ecology and evolution.
New Accountant
New Accountant is a print & online journal edited for college Accounting students, with articles written by college Accounting professors & industry professionals as a resource for students of Accountancy on the vast career & advanced degree opportunities for today's graduate. And helping them prepare for a career in accounting and sit for the CPA exam. And also used extensively to introduce the many benefits of Accounting as a college major and future profession to high school students.
The Next Web
TNW was started to bring insight, meaning—and every now and again, the lulz—to the world of technology.
Oceanography Magazine
Oceanography is the official magazine of The Oceanography Society. It contains peer-reviewed articles that chronicle all aspects of ocean science and its applications. In addition, Oceanography solicits and publishes news and information, meeting reports, hands-on laboratory exercises, career profiles, book reviews, and shorter, editor-reviewed articles that address public policy and education and how they are affected by science and technology.
Physics Today
Physics Today, the flagship publication of the American Institute of Physics (AIP), informs readers about science and its place in the world with authoritative features, news stories, analysis, and fresh perspectives on technological advances and ground-breaking research.
Politico
POLITICO strives to be the dominant source for politics and policy in power centers across every continent where access to reliable information, non-partisan journalism and real-time tools creates, informs and engages a global citizenry.
PR News
With the launch of its weekly newsletter over 70 years ago, PR News has remained dedicated to supporting the growth of communicators and marketers all while keeping them abreast of the latest news affecting their industries.
Professional Photographer
The official magazine of Professional Photographers of America, Professional Photographer helps readers advance their businesses and careers through editorial content that addresses the artistic, technological, and business aspects of their work.
Public Relations Journal
Public Relations Journal is a free, web-based, open-access, quarterly academic journal presented by PRSA and the Institute for Public Relations (IPR) dedicated to offering the latest public relations and communication-based research.
Resource Magazine
The magazine features trends, new technologies, issues, and applications related to agricultural and biological engineering.
Science Daily
ScienceDaily features breaking news about the latest discoveries in science, health, the environment, technology, and more -- from major news services and leading universities, scientific journals, and research organizations.
Scientific American
Scientific American is the award-winning authoritative source for the science discoveries and technology innovations that matter.
Social Media Today
Covers industry news and provide original analysis. Throughout the day, the editorial team analyzes the top news stories and publishes in-depth feature articles.
Sociological Science
Sociological Science is an open-access, online, peer-reviewed, international journal for social scientists committed to advancing a general understanding of social processes.
Sports Business Journal
SportsBusiness Journal provides coverage of the deals, trades, contracts and boardroom power plays that shape the rapidly changing sports landscape. Regular columns cover every aspect of the industry, from media and marketing to finance, facilities and labor.
The Tax Adviser
The Tax Adviser is a monthly publication of the American Institute of CPAs, providing tax practitioners with timely, in-depth, practical, and comprehensive information on federal and state tax developments.
Today's Veterinary Practice
An official journal of the NAVC, Today’s Veterinary Practice is the trusted source for peer-reviewed clinical information in veterinary medicine.
Trial
Trial is AAJ's award-winning magazine for attorneys, law professors, judges and others in the legal community. Trial brings readers news of the latest legal trends and developments, informative articles about civil law practice, coverage of recent verdicts and settlements in a wide range of practice areas, and commentary and analysis on emerging legal issues.
VFX World Magazine
Publication dedicated to the diverse fields of visual effects, 3D animation and computer graphics. VFXWorld provides targeted, in-depth perspective and insight into these dynamic industries through an entertaining and informative assembly of viewpoints, tutorials, and imagery.
The Wire
SWCA’s award-winning news magazine, The Wire, provides readers with timely features, trends, and regulatory updates relevant to the environmental consulting industry.
World Meteorologic Organization Library Access
Access to the WMO's online library