LibGuides: Career Exploration: Information

Information

"The Information industry comprises establishments that produce, process, and distribute information. While many industries use information or information technology to increase productivity, the establishments in this industry are unique in that information is their primary commodity.

Some establishments in this sector produce and distribute information and cultural products. Cultural products are those that express attitudes, opinions, ideas, values, and artistic creativity; provide entertainment; or offer information and analysis on the past and present.

Information and cultural products are created and circulated in different ways. Common activities include publishing (traditional print, software, and Internet), broadcasting (radio, television, and Internet), and motion picture and sound recording. The output includes newspapers, magazines, books, software, television shows, music, radio programs, web pages, and more.

The industry also covers establishments engaged in distributing and dealing with information in other ways. These establishments perform activities related to supplying, storing, providing access to, searching for, and retrieving information. Establishments that perform these functions include news syndicates, libraries and archives, and web search portals.

Some establishments engage in processing or hosting data. Some establishments provide specialized data reporting and processing for clients, or offer automated data entry or processing services. Others provide web and application hosting or streaming services.

Telecommunications is also a large part of the industry. Establishments in this sector supply television, phone, and Internet services through wired, wireless, and satellite systems. The channels they create transmit voice, data, text, sound, and video communications." ~Career Cruising database

Career Examples:

Examples of careers in Information include...

Archivists
Audio-Visual Technicians
Broadcast Technicians
Computer Network Specialists
Computer Programmers
Computer Software Engineers
Database Developers
Digital Media Specialists
Editors (Various fields -- i.e. Film, Print)
Engineering Techs
Film and TV Crew
Graphic Designers
Librarians
Library Technicians
Journalists
Producers
Publishers
Directors (Various fields -- i.e. Film, Radio, TV)
Recording Engineers
Technical Writers
Television and Radio Reporters
Video Game Developers
Writers

Directions:

Choose a database or link to find articles on your chosen career
Remember to cite your sources
Review the searching tutorials if you need help

Databases

Search the databases below for authoritative information on your topic.

Remember: If you are at home, you will need the passwords for each database. All passwords are on the Gold Sheet in the Library Resources Schoology.

Artstor This link opens in a new window
BLS (Bureau of Labor Statistics) This link opens in a new window
Guide to career information about hundreds of occupations compiled by the U.S. Department of Labor
Britannica Original Sources This link opens in a new window
Instant access to over 420,000 e-Works of classic, primary source, and general reference materials in: World History, U.S. History, Political Science, Law, Literature, Science, Mathematics, Social Science, Philosophy, Religion, Language, and Language Arts.
EBSCO Explora Secondary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Collection of electronic nonfiction and reference books (eBooks).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Set up a My JSTOR account to take full advantage of the database.
O*Net Online This link opens in a new window
Includes information on skills, abilities, work activities, and interests associated with over 800 occupations
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, selected web links, and periodical articles on social issues.
Gale in Context: Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Text, video, image, and statistical information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other reliable sources. Also includes more than 280,000 high-quality science images from sources such as UPI, Getty, NASA, National Geographic, and the Nature Picture Library.
Gale OneFile: High School Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and reference books.
Gale in Context: High School This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text magazines, newspapers, reference, overviews, critical essays, primary sources, and multimedia on a variety of subject areas.

Selected Web Links

Archival Outlook
Articles focus on best practice and how-to pieces on timely and relevant topics, how archives are used by the public, and archivists on the job.
The American Archivist
The American Archivist is the semi-annual journal of the Society of American Archivists. It seeks to reflect thinking about theoretical and practical developments in the archival profession; about the relationships between archivists and the creators and users of archives; and about cultural, social, legal, and technological developments that affect the nature of recorded information and the need to create and maintain it.
AV Network
AV Network is the online home for Systems Contractor News, AV Technology, and Digital Signage Magazine/Digital Signage Weekly.
IASA Journal
Official publication of the International Association of Sound and Audiovisual Archives - Newer issues are available only to IASA members, however issues older than five years may be freely downloaded by anyone.
Broadcasting & Cable Magazine
B&C’s editorial covers the spectrum of broadcast, cable, satellite, telco, advertising, multimedia, broadband, and other emerging technologies. B&C’s readers include executives at TV stations, TV networks, cable systems and networks, major media companies, ad agencies, packaged goods manufacturers and professionals in the government sector related to the television industry including Congress and the FCC.
ComputerWorld
Computerworld focuses on empowering enterprise users and their managers, helping them create business advantage by skillfully exploiting today's abundantly powerful web, mobile, and desktop applications. Computerworld also offers guidance to IT managers tasked with optimizing client systems—and helps businesses revolutionize the customer and employee experience with new collaboration platforms.
Network Computing
Network Computing provides community members with in-depth analysis on new and emerging infrastructure technologies, real-world advice on implementation and operations, and practical strategies for improving their skills and advancing their careers.
The Next Web
TNW was started to bring insight, meaning—and every now and again, the lulz—to the world of technology.
Editor & Publisher
Editor & Publisher is the authoritative journal covering all aspects of the newspaper industry, including business, newsroom, advertising, circulation, marketing, technology, online and syndicates.
Folio:
Folio: is dedicated to providing magazine publishing professionals with the news, insights, and best practices to keep them in tune with today’s media industry trends.
Engineering & Technology Magazine
E&T covers all areas of engineering and technology through exclusive news, features, analysis, announcements and job adverts. The scope of E&T’s coverage is very broad and is aimed at professionals working in all areas of engineering and technology, including the key industry sectors of the built environment, design and production, energy, information and communications and transport.
Engineering Magazine
Engineering magazine reports on the latest industry thinking, techniques and trends. Featuring the work of engineering teams worldwide, it is not only essential reading for those in the industry but also companies to maintain competitive advantage.
Layers Magazine
What began as a news and education site for popular design and photography apps, Layers is now a lifestyle and news magazine for people who share a passion for creativity.
Creative Bloq
Creative Bloq delivers a daily mix of advice and inspiration for digital and traditional artists, web designers, graphic designers, 3D and VFX artists, illustrators, and more.
Communication Arts
Communication Arts magazine is the leading trade journal for visual communications, and the largest creative magazine in the world.
Digital Arts
Digital Arts - comprehensive coverage of the art of graphic design, 3D, animation, video, effects, web and interactive design.
School Library Journal
School Library Journal is the premiere publication for librarians and information specialists who work with children and teens. A source of quality journalism and reviews for more than 60 years, SLJ produces award-winning features and news coverage on: literacy, best practices, technology, education policy and other issues of interest to the school library and greater educator community.
American Libraries Magazine
American Libraries is the voice of the profession and the flagship magazine of the American Library Association.
American Journalism Review
American Journalism Review is published by the Philip Merrill College of Journalism at the University of Maryland. AJR’s mission is to promote excellence and inspire innovation in journalism through original reporting, commentary and smart aggregation on the news media. AJR operates as an integral part of Maryland’s journalism school, where students play a key role in reporting, writing and producing news for the AJR.org digital news service.
Columbia Journalism Review
CJR’s mission is to be the intellectual leader in the rapidly changing world of journalism. It is the most respected voice on press criticism, and it shapes the ideas that make media leaders and journalists smarter about their work. Through its fast-turn analysis and deep reporting, CJR is an essential venue not just for journalists, but also for the thousands of professionals in communications, technology, academia, and other fields reliant on solid media industry knowledge.
Recording Magazine
Recording delivers a blend of topical articles, how-to columns, in-depth reviews, interviews, industry news, DIY guides, critiques of readers’ recordings, and more.
Game Developer Magazine
An in-depth monthly magazine for exposing 'the art and business of video games'.
The Writer Magazine
The Writer is dedicated to expanding and supporting the work of professional and aspiring writers with a straightforward presentation of industry information, writing instruction and professional and personal motivation. In the pages of our magazine, writers share experiences, expertise, struggles, advice, successes, and suggestions.