LibGuides: Career Exploration: Administrative, Support, Waste Management, and Remediation Services

Administrative, Support, Waste Management, and Remediation Services

"There are many tasks that are essential to the daily operation of a business or organization. They are typically not an organization’s primary business, but can take up a lot of staff time and energy. Establishments in this industry perform these routine activities for other establishments and households to keep them running smoothly." ~Career Cruising database

Career Examples:

Examples of careers in Administrative, Support, Waste Management, and Remediation Services include...

Janitorial Services/Custodian
Pest Control
Landscaping
Waste Disposal
Security Guards
Freight/Stock Movers
Administrative Assistant
Customer Service
Construction Laborer
Court Reporter
Dispatcher
Travel Agent

Directions:

Choose a database or link to find articles on your chosen career
Remember to cite your sources
Review the searching tutorials if you need help

Databases

Search the databases below for authoritative information on your topic.

Remember: If you are at home, you will need the passwords for each database. All passwords are on the Gold Sheet in the Library Resources Schoology.

BLS (Bureau of Labor Statistics) This link opens in a new window
Guide to career information about hundreds of occupations compiled by the U.S. Department of Labor
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Collection of electronic nonfiction and reference books (eBooks).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Set up a My JSTOR account to take full advantage of the database.
O*Net Online This link opens in a new window
Includes information on skills, abilities, work activities, and interests associated with over 800 occupations
Gale OneFile: High School Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and reference books.
Gale in Context: High School This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text magazines, newspapers, reference, overviews, critical essays, primary sources, and multimedia on a variety of subject areas.

Selected Web Links

Cleaning & Maintenance Management
The Cleaning & Maintenance Management (CMM) family of resources is specifically designed for professionals involved in the cleaning and upkeep of health care, education, government, commercial, and other types of facilities.
Services Magazine
The exclusive magazine for the Building Service Contracting industry since 1981.
Pest Control Technology Magazine
A leading monthly trade publication serving the dynamic pest control marketplace.
Pest Management Professional
Pest Management Professional (PMP) magazine has been the industry’s leading technical journal since 1933.
Lawn & Landscape
Lawn and Landscape Business magazine offers landscaping contractors and lawn care operators the latest information on business management, lawn care, and more.
Turf Magazine
Turf keeps the industry up-to-date on emerging trends, technical issues, best practices, operational efficiencies, marketing/sales and human development.
Waste Advantage Magazine
Printed monthly, Waste Advantage Magazine is solely dedicated to covering the solid waste and recycling industry.
Waste Today Magazine
Waste Today (WT) covers collection and transfer news, organics, recycling, conversion technologies, waste to energy, landfill management, special and hazardous waste, markets and contracting news, mergers and acquisitions and more — all aspects of the solid waste industry in North America.
Security Today
Security Today is the industry-leading, security products magazine, enewsletter, providing solutions, the latest news, webinars, products, and innovations in the industry.
CRM Magazine
Customer Relationship Management
U.S. Builders Review
US Builders Review is a business-to-business trade journal striving to build strong connections within the many sectors of the U.S. construction industry.